The Bread Box-Blog

15
Nov

gluten-free

November Is National Gluten-Free Diet Awareness Month

November is National Gluten-Free Diet Awareness Month. Since we’ve begun to offer gluten-free products like our new gluten-free, vegan donut line, we thought it was a great time to share what  “gluten-free” really means.

Who Benefits from “Gluten-Free” Labeling?

In August of 2014, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) enacted a rule requiring that foods labeled as “gluten-free” meet certain standards. The rule is aimed at assisting approximately three million Americans who suffer from celiac disease, but it also creates an even playing field for food manufacturers as they all must meet the same requirements when voluntarily labeling foods as “gluten-free.”

What Is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is an inherited auto-immune disorder. When people with the disease consume gluten, a family of proteins found in grains like wheat, rye, spelt and barley, the lining of the small intestine is destroyed over time, making them susceptible to other serious health conditions. Worth noting here is that even though many people believe that celiac disease is new because of the increased media attention in the past decade, it has actually been known for more than a century and is believed to have existed even in ancient times.

A research study published by the National Institutes of Health said the disease likely dates back to 1 and 2 A.D., while the first description in modern times was noted in 1888. The first society devoted to awareness of the disease was formed in the UK in 1968.

What Does the FDA Require?

The FDA’s rule applies to “gluten-free” labeling when voluntarily applied to food items, but it does not require that foods be labeled as “gluten-free.” The FDA defines “gluten-free” as meaning that a food either is inherently free of gluten, or does not contain an ingredient that is:

1-A gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt wheat);

2-Derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour); or

3-Derived from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat starch), if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 parts per million (ppm) or more gluten in the food.

Also, any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food must be less than 20 ppm.

The rule applies to all FDA-regulated packaged foods, including dietary supplements, but excludes those foods whose labeling is regulated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB).

Try Our New Gluten-Free, Vegan Donuts

Now that we’ve educated you a bit on what “gluten-free” means, we’d like to tell you a little bit about our new gluten-free, vegan donuts. These light, tender cake donuts are a delicious, but healthy alternative to grain-based donuts. Not only do they have no gluten, but they are made without artificial ingredients or trans fats, and are nut free.

They are available in glazed, glazed chocolate, and glazed cinnamon varieties. They come frozen with a shelf life of up to 6 months in the freezer and 10 days refrigerated. They are perfect for retail outlets, in-store bakeries, small bake shops and convenience stores, who want to offer their customers healthier alternatives, as well as keep up with the consumer demand for gluten-free foods.  

Baker’s Pride Loves Making Donuts

Baker’s Pride offers a large selection of yeast-raised and cake donuts in many shapes and flavors, and we are always looking for new donut products that will appeal to our customers and end consumers. We are also proud to make all our donuts and baked goods right here in the U.S. Contact us today to learn more about our donut and bread products.